top of page

About the Town Government


The Town of Bethany officially began in 1853. It operates under its original Virginia Charter. Most of the town is an Historic District. The Town Council and the Mayor meet on the first Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. in the newly remodeled Bethany Community Building located next to the town park.  Elected Town officials serve a two year term. Elections are held at the Community Center on the second Tuesday in June.  


Town of Bethany Officials

  • Mayor: Shirley Kemp (from July 1, 2023 through June 30, 2025).

  • Recorder: Helen Moren (from July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2025)

  • Council Members (2023 to 2025): Jan Forsty, Kevin Clancy, Thomas Miller, Thomas Furbee, Patrick Sutherland.

  • Town Judge: Joseph Barki

  • Town Prosecutor John Kyle

  • Court Clerk Laura Kemp

  • Solicitor: Mark D. Panepinto

  • Treasurer: Mark Bolen

  • Chief of Police: Sara Dent

  • Streets & Sanitation:  Mark Bolen, Manager  E-mail at:

  • Greater Bethany Area Volunteer Fire Department Chief:  Edward Stough

Bethany Municipal Planning Commission

  • Current President: To be named

  • Vice President: To be named

  • Secretary: To be named

  • Members: Aaron Anslow, Kevin Clancy, Dan Harry, Corey Mitchell, Heather Stone, Bill Steigerwald

The Town of Bethany is an active member of the Business Development Corporation (BDC).

Mayor's Student Advisory Council

Members for this year to be determined.

Main St. Bethany '19.jpg
bottom of page